Fall Favorites

100_4129.jpgDon’t you just love fall?  It’s my absolute favorite time of year.  What do I love about fall?  Here goes…another list….

1.  The colors:  It was so nice of God to switch things up for us. Though I love green, it’s nice to see all those other shades too.  Not comparing myself to God here, but I do think it’s fun to make normal things different colors on occasion (including my hair).   If you’ve ever made green mashed potatoes or decorated for Christmas in colors other than green and red you know what I’m talking about.

2.  That wonderful smell of burning leaves. How is it that burning anything else reeks (think dinner, coffee, toast, the IBP plant in Emporia) but leaves produce a wonderful smell?

 3.  Pumpkin is in everything!  I love the taste of pumpkin in my desserts. Last night i had a Pumpkin Concrete from Sheridan’s.  They actually take a whole piece of pumpkin pie and mix it with their yummy custard. I highly recommend it.   I also have so many pumpkin recipes I could make a book exclusively with them.  My favorite:  pumpkin pancakes with apple chutney. Also like pumpkin cheesecake, pie, fruit dip, bread, cake cookies…..the list is endless.  (By the way, I do draw the line at pumpkin soup……..blech!)  SO all of you who accuse me of not eating lots of vegetables, take note that I make up for it with the pumpkin stuff in autumn.

4. Cinnamon has got to be one of my favorite flavors (hence why I like the pumpkin desserts so much).  But for some reason, in the fall, those cinnamonny things start popping up too. My favorite ice cream is Braum’s Cinnamon Crumb Cake, a seasonal item.

 5. The crispness in the air.

6.  The end of summer and it’s dreadful heat. 

7. Sleeping with the windows open at night.

8. I can start making fires in my fireplace. Okay, to be honest, I can’t say I’m good at making fires. That may be a misnomer.  I’ve taken to buying the duraflame log and lighting it.  I know guys like to tend fires, but I want to light it and not have to get up every 3.5 minutes to keep it from totally extinguishing itself.

9. Singing around a bonfire and going on a hayride. Haven’t done a lot of those this year, but I have fond memories of both, and they usually center around great friends and good times. I especially remember the bonfires we had at York College.

100_4132.jpg10.  Just walking through nature, enjoying the swirling leaves, the crunch underfoot, and the beauty of our Creator.  That’s what I did today.  After lunch my sister, niece and I went to a local nature trail.

 

 

Here’s a few more pics from my day with the family….

Molly, helping me make Angel Biscuits, and some shots of Tracy and Milan.

100_4105.jpg100_4110.jpg  100_4117.jpg 100_4115.jpg

~ by tawnyamarie on November 11, 2007.

One Response to “Fall Favorites”

  1. I can hardly believe how much Milan has grown!!!!! She’s still got that little cute “signature” hairdo I love so much, though!

Leave a Reply

 
