Here’s what I’ve been cookin’ up lately…

Well, actually I can’t show you everything I’ve been cookin’ up because it is Christmas-time and I wouldn’t want anyone to get any sneak peeks on presents or anything.  Tomorrow I’m going to our ladies’ Bible study Christmas party so I realized at the last minute I needed something dessert-ish to take. Being that my cupboards are nearly empty, and I didn’t want to go to the store, I whipped up an easy old stand by. These were one of my favorites growing up. We called them “Chinese Chewies” which I’m sure is incredibly non PC (and erroneous, since they have nothing to do with China).  I’ve also heard them called Haystacks. Anyway, if you need a quick treat (or a peanut butter fix) these are great and take all of 5 minutes to make (of course then you have to wait a few minutes for them to set up before you just start indulging).

Haystacks
(or “Chinese Chewies” – my apologies to any Chinese readers)

  • 1/2 cup Peanut Butter

  • 6 oz. (1/2 bag) butterscotch  chips

  • 2 Cups Chow Mein noodles

100_4776-1.jpgMelt PB and Chips over low heat. Add Noodles and stir to coat. Drop by spoonful onto wax paper or aluminum foil and refrigerate until set.  You can also try other flavors of baking morsels, but as much as I love chocolate, the classic butterscotch recipe is best!

100_4780-1.jpgI also needed a Christmas gift for an exchange. Nice thing about being crafty…..if you don’t wanna spend money, you can just whip something up. I came up with this bracelet and bookmark. I’m hoping the green makes it Chrismassy enough. I didn’t use red too because that would make it difficult to wear the other 11 months of the year.

One final recipe for you. This is for another childhood favorite that can only be made at the most opportune times: Snow ice cream. We had about 3 – 5 ” of snow on Saturday, so when my friend Emily came over we decided to whip up a batch. It was a first for her. I also invited my Hungarian tenant, who had never had it either. We assured him that we used only the cleanest snow. When we made this in the old days, we used raw eggs. We also frequently made eggnog with raw eggs. It’s amazing we made it to adulthood!

Here’s a salmonella-free version I found online….

Snow Ice Cream

  • 1/2 c. sugar

  • 1 cup cream

  • 1/2 c. liquid egg sub.

  • 2 tsp. Vanilla

  • Pinch of Salt

  • A Bunch of Fresh Snow

Blend all ingredients in blender. Send most willing family member (or if you’re single like me, go yourself) out into the snow to scrape off the top-most layer of snow, taking care to avoid yellow or black speckled snow. Inspect snow in better lighting. Pour blended mixture into snow and stir. Eat immediately.

This will not be the same consistency as regular ice cream, but it’s so yummy and novel. We added about 6 cups of snow. I’d recommend more than that….maybe 8 – 10.

Well, if we have any more big snows this winter, I’ll experiment with some other recipes and let you know which one’s the best! This was pretty good but not exactly as I remember.

~ by tawnyamarie on December 16, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
