Try it Before You Buy It

In today’s installment: the Butternut Squash.  Whatever would possess me to purchase one of those? I mean aren’t I the girl who isn’t that crazy about veggies?  Well, I’ll tell you.

I joined Weight Watchers. Crazy, huh? Joined right before the holidays. Hopefully that’s not setting myself up for failure. I was just ready to get going and not willing to gain weight over this holiday season like I did last year.  So I will be happy if I lose a little weight in the next few weeks, but really not gaining any this time of year would be good too.

I stumbled upon this site: www.hungry-girl.com. It’s great; it’s part of what inspired me to join. There are all kinds of tips and tricks and recipes. She also does recipe make-overs. You know, you think about your favorite fattening foods and she gives you a recipe to try that’s much less fattening. This is how I found myself purchasing a butternut squash. 

I must confess, if it weren’t for those little sticker labels, I wouldn’t have been able to tell a butternut from a spaghetti squash. rec_frmmktwintersquashnames.jpgThink I could have figured out the acorn squash, but this is not an area of expertise for me. For those of you that are also ignorant about your squashes, I googled it and here’s what I found on the Holland, Michigan website….

 So now that we have our squashes straight, back to our story. I was intrigued when hungry girl gave a couple of recipe swaps for sweet potatoes. This is one food that I hated as a kid but love now.  So tonight I experimented with both recipes and here are my findings…

100_4784.jpgSweet Cinnamon Fritter Fries. These were supposed to be a cross between sweet potato fries and french toast sticks and all very healthy. I have to admit they looked pretty good and you serve them with a bit of syrup to dip them in. According to HG, these would make my head explode! Wow! I’m all for trying a veggie that can do that. 100_4788.jpgWell, as you can tell from this picture, if you are a texture person like me, you might have problems with this veggie. They were mushy, limp and they didn’t fool me at all into thinking they were sweet potatoes. Sasha, as you can see, was eager to try my new creation (incidentally, she loved them, but who ya gonna trust? Me or a pooch?).

Meanwhile, my faux sweet potato casserole was baking in the oven. 100_4790.jpgIt smelled delicious. I love cinnamonny things and I was hoping this would redeem the butternut squash. As you can see, I made the mistake of putting the marshmallows on too soon so they’re not as pretty. So overall, I’d say from looks alone that it’s not real appetizing. I stirred it up and took a bite. Blech! This sweet potato casserole wanna-be is never going to be gracing my table. I had to throw the rest out.

So in summary, the butternut squash was difficult to peel and de-seed, and didn’t taste like sweet potato at all in my book. However, if you would like to take the time to make some fancy-schmancy doggie treats, Sasha says this could be the way to go. 

~ by tawnyamarie on December 18, 2007.

3 Responses to “Try it Before You Buy It”

  1. I also started watching what I eat and have lost 3 pounds. I figured by getting a jump start, I was ridding myself of the New Year’s Resolution failure! 🙂 You can do it! 🙂

  2. Well I can definitely say those food items don’t look appetizing at all! I can see why Sasha got to help you eat it. :o)

  3. Dear Tawnya:

    I try to be particular about what I eat. However, I stumbled during this Christmas season. When I spent sometimes with my friends in Southern California I found myself snacking on the chips and pretzels. From previous experiences I have found a solution to snacking. My solution is that I bring the fruit tray that I purchased from the supermarket. This way I can snack on the fruits and vegetables. I do try to watch what I eat and exercise. When in doubt, bring the fruits and vegetables. God Bless You Tawnyamerie

Leave a Reply

 
