Thursday Thirteen

I’m off tomorrow after work to Georgia for the MLK weekend.  I’m going to see my college friend, Michelle who lives in Athens.  So in the interest of not spending too much time on the computer, this week’s installment of Thursday 13 is entitled,

“Bizarre January Holidays”

 1. California Dried Plum Digestive Month…..In celebration I think I’ll drink a bunch of Dr. Pepper. No, wait, that’s prune juice. Sorry California, I’m just not feeling very celebratory about this one.

instructoart_cuckoo.gif2. Cuckoo Dancing Week, January 11 – 17.  What? Now I’ve heard of the chicken dance, but cuckoo dancing?  Is this dancing in a “cuckoo” (i.e. crazy) fashion, dancing to imitate a cuckoo, or getting a cuckoo bird to dance? Anyone out there that can enlighten me? Strike 2 for me. Guess I’ll be the January Holiday scrooge.

3. Nothing Day,  January 16. I think I’ll celebrate by watching back to back episodes of Seinfeld (it IS the show about nothing, you know).

4. Answer your cat’s questions day, January 22. Well, since I’m not the cat whisperer or anything I may have to skip this one.

5. Inspire your Heart with Art Day, January 31. Now that’s one I can get behind.

6. Here’s an ironic one. National Pie Day, 1/23 falls during Healthy Weight Week. Obviously those 2 were scheduled by a man with a high metabolism.

pandas-hugging.jpg7. And they’re asking for a lot on January 21 – 25, No name calling week. The 21st is National Hugging Day; the 22nd is National Radiant Peace Day (as opposed to non-radiant peace); the 24th is Compliment Day; and the 25th is Fun at Work Day. I know some co-workers that just need to call in sick that whole week. That’s just asking way too much.

8. Diet Resolution Week, January 1 – 7. What I find sad but true is that many people only celebrate for that one week. At the very least, they should have made this 21 days, the time it takes to form a new habit.

193_ugly_old_lady.gif9.  National Cowboy Poetry Gathering Week, 1/26 – 2/2.  Well you could argue that it may be a good place to snag me an artsy, yet rugged man. Um. No Thanks.

10. 55 MPH Speed-Limit Day, January 2. I boycotted that one.

11. January 2: National Joy Germ Day and National Show and Tell Day at Work. Well, I missed it this year, but next year, I’ll kill 2 birds with one stone and share my joy germs (and in lieu of joy germs or if I’m fresh out, I’ll share whatever germs I have on hand).

12. Trivia Day was the 4th. Here’s your belated question…..Thomas Crapper Day is the 27th. Who is he?

13. And a few holidays I think I will suggest…..

January 15: National Procrastinator’s Unite to Mail your Christmas Cards New Years Cards Holiday Cards Groundhog’s Day Cards.
January 7-13: National shop the 90% off sales.
January: National join eHarmony for a 3-day free trial and never take your profile down.
January: National Embrace your Unorganized-ness Month.
January 10: National “It’s safe to dump your boyfriend and keep the diamond Christmas gifts without guilt” Day (just kidding; you should at least hang on until V-Day).

Well, that’s all for now. Have a happy everything!  By the way, did you know today is judgment day?? Personally I missed the trumpets sounding.  For more on bizarre holidays, look here: http://www.brownielocks.com/month2.html

~ by tawnyamarie on January 17, 2008.

One Response to “Thursday Thirteen”

  1. On the date of #6, watch the movie Waitress. It is all about Pies, and is good for supporting female actresses by supporting the Adrienne Shelly Foundation. Just a little “food for thought”.

Leave a Reply

 
