Attitude Adjustment

Today I had to give myself an attitude adjustment on my hour and 45 minute trek to work.  It was another snowy morning when all the metro schools seemed to be out, but my school district did not call off school. After begrudgingly getting ready, shoveling off the drive, and nearly careening into a pole on my street, I passed at least 6 school districts that were staying home in bed as I made my way to work.  About half an hour (and only 5 miles into the trip) I calculated that at the current speed (5-8 mph) it would take between 5 and 8 hours to get to work. Luckily things picked up a bit.

As I was telling one of the students I counsel, you decide what kind of day you’re going to have. I could focus on how irritated I was, which was the easy and natural thing to do, or I could choose to rise above. I tried a little positive self talk. Sure I hated driving in to work, but really I’m blessed to have a job I like that gives me a roof over my head and food on my plate. And though I hate having to spend sooo much time in the car, at least I have one. At least I can drive. At least I don’t live in Alaska where this would be the norm.  This could go on and on. You get the picture.

You too can have your own personal attitude adjustment. Just follow those simple steps and if you had a morning like I did, repeat about 25 times.

~ by tawnyamarie on February 6, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
