WWW: Weight Watchers Wednesday

Maybe posting this feature on Wednesday will be a little more do-able. Don’t have a lot to report, but one recipe to share. This is a recipe I got from my sister and already made quite a bit. I just doctored it up to make it more WW friendly.

100_5273.jpg

Tacos in Pasta Shells

  • 1 pound 95% lean ground beef (or use ground turkey)
  • 15 jumbo pasta shells (I prepare 18 in case some rip)
  • 4 oz. fat free cream cheese (1/2 a block)
  • Chili powder (to taste)
  • 1 cup salsa (I like On the Border Salsa)
  • 3 large tortilla chips (I like Tostitos with hint of lime)
  • Tostitos Monterey Jack Queso (this comes in a jar near the chips and dip) about 2 Tbsp needed

Steps: Preheat oven to 350. Prepare jumbo shells as directed on package. Meanwhile, brown beef and drain. Add cream cheese, chili powder, pinch of salt, and salsa. Allow to simmer as Pasta finishes boiling. Once shells are drained, put about a Tbsp. of meat mixture into each shell (don’t fill them to the gills or you’ll run out of meat). Top with a tsp. of queso on each shell. Bake for about 10 minutes, until heated through. Crumble chips and sprinkle over top. Makes 5 servings (3 shells each). Points value:  7.

Variations: I tried to make these with even fewer points, but was stuck on what else to sub. Ground turkey would yield the same point value. If you’re really determined, I suppose you could use tofu crumbles or something. If you can find a higher fiber pasta or whole grain shells, that would definitely help the point count.

Also, if you’re not worried about points, use as much cheddar or Mexican blend shredded cheese on the top as you like. I used the queso because it had a relatively low point value and I like the flavor. If you are counting points, just be sure to account for any point differences in the type of cheese you use.

Update on the Oreo Pie:  This is one good pie (the second one I made, not the one with Knox gelatin. Believe it or not, I made it 4 times in the last week, each for a different function or dinner (not just for me). It is so easy and good. My friend that hates oreos even liked it.

~ by tawnyamarie on February 20, 2008.

One Response to “WWW: Weight Watchers Wednesday”

  1. I cannot believe you are friends with someone who hates Oreos! 😉

Leave a Reply

 
