Thursday 13: Names that are Forever Ruined for Me

Having worked with kids with mental illness for the last 10 years or so (translate that into major behavioral issues), I have certain names that I will never name my own children. It’s not that I do not like the names. So if one of these is your name, never fear, I still like you and your name. It’s just that these names bring up memories of mischievous children, so I would choose not to use them…..I’ve only listed the fairly common ones, so as not to give away anyone’s identity (I’ve run across some very unique  names in all that time too).

1. Cody….no offense to my bro-in-law, who went by this name for awhile, but every other Cody I’ve ever met has been extremely hyperactive and precocious.

2. Ashley

3. Jason……besides the fact that now when I hear “Jason” I immediately think of the horror movie (not because I’ve seen them, but because I’ve seen lots of kids’ art on the subject). But also I’ve known plenty of Jasons in my time.

4. Austin

5. Justin…..for that matter almost all of the “J” boy names are ruined for me.

6. Brittany……Well and the biggest problem child of all has this name. We should have known when we heard her sing thing like, “Oops, I Did it Again”.

7. Michael…..and actually a lot of other common names.

8.  Josh…….and Ritalin often go together.

9.  Robert…..and all variations (Rob, Bob, Bobby)

10. Eric

11. Brandon

12. Chris

13. Jennifer

There are many others. Some are so unique that they would definitely give away who I’m talking about, so I’ll leave that as a mental list.  

You may have noticed there aren’t as many girl names on the list. It’s not that I haven’t worked with my share of precocious girls, it’s just that their names tend to be more unique.

~ by tawnyamarie on February 21, 2008.

2 Responses to “Thursday 13: Names that are Forever Ruined for Me”

  1. That is funny. There are names for me like that too. I think I shall post on that later. Cute!

  2. Pretty sure you’ll never come across a kid with the name Conrey! 🙂 That was one thing we really liked about picking a unique name…no one could say, “OH! Don’t name them that! I knew this one kid……”

    There are certain names that I think of and think of stereotypes in general. My sister-in-law, Becky, says that all Becky’s are fat or handicapped (mentally or physically). Well, she is neither of these, so it really amuses me that she says that. She was so excited to hear that there was going to be a Barbie doll named Becky. She went to the store….low and behold, it was in a wheelchair! HA!

Leave a Reply

 
