So You Think You’re Having a Bad Day??

Well my friend Emily tells me that when she’s had a bad day at work, she just needs to call me and hear about mine and she feels much better. Case in point…..today. A teenaged autistic kid bit me on the outer thigh just above the knee. I had thick jeans on, otherwise, I think I would have had a nice little chunk missing (not what I have in mind when I think of trimming down my thighs). No broken skin, so no shots needed. And you know me, I had to have a picture……

100_5378.jpg Day 1 100_5385.jpg Day 6

So you readers are probably wondering how I can like a job when on any given day I can get hit, kicked, bit, and get my hair yanked. I really do think God has equipped me for this, because it doesn’t stress me out. Sure, I would have preferred not to have been bitten, but in the grand scheme of things, I feel like the help I’m giving these very needy kids is well worth the risks. Sure I’m an emotional person, but God gives me the personal strength to be there and not melt into a puddle of tears when I hear the sad stories of abuse and neglect these kids tell. That’s the only way I can explain it. Otherwise it doesn’t make sense. I watch a movie or hear a story about the same kind of thing and I can’t help but cry. But when I’m face to face with a kid needing help, somehow I can hold it together and not take on so much emotional baggage that I’m stressed out. 

By the way, it’s really a good feeling to be doing what you feel you were meant to do.

~ by tawnyamarie on February 26, 2008.

2 Responses to “So You Think You’re Having a Bad Day??”

  1. OUCH!!!!! I guess you were simply made for that kind of job! I am hoping to be able to find that kind of job/career for myself!

  2. I cannot believe that is one bite mark! It looks horrible. And yes…looking at that makes me realize my week hasn’t been that bad. :o)

Leave a Reply

 
