Thursday 13 & Random Question: Songs

For today’s installment, an offshoot of an email I got this week……

 of50436442.jpg

Thirteen Songs I Remember Loving as a Kid:

1. “Don’t it Make My Brown Eyes Blue” by Crystal Gale. I still could sing this from memory. Used to give concerts in the living room and wished my long hair would someday get that length. Also, according to reports, when I was 4 and entered in the county fair princess contest, they asked what I wanted to be when I grew up. Apparently I said a singer and broke into song.

2. “Hey, if You Happen to See the Most Beautiful Girl in the World”…….Charlie Pride (don’t think that’s the actual title).

3. Lots of ABBA songs (Dad had the 8-tracks). I particularly liked “Does Your Mother Know that You’re Out”.

4. Elvira

5. “O Thou Fount of Every Blessing” #405 in the Songs of the Church book for you C of C-ers. I can remember requesting that every chance I got.

6. Apparently I liked “Baby You’re no Good” by Linda Rondstadt because my family used to sing it to me when I was a baby and it was then my first sentence. Hmmm….How did I turn out mostly normal??!

7. Rocky Top….don’t remember who sang it, but we had the record.

8. The Mary Poppins and Sound of Music soundtracks.

9. “Flee as a Bird” I was a bit older, but loved this church song.

10.  “America” by Neil Diamond

11. “Peace in the Valley” another church song

12. “A Beautiful Prayer” a church song.

13. “9 to 5” by Dolly Parton. I had the 45.

Ironic thing about this list is, despite the prevalance of country music, it’s not my favorite now. I have a few country singers I like, but can’t really stand to listen to a country station.  Really I just listened to what was in my Dad’s library.

I liked about everything back then. I was just a musical person.  They had to make rules about singing in the car and at the table because apparently I overdid it. To this day, if I hear part of a song, I compulsively finish it (unless I’m amongst strangers). This has been amusing for my sister, niece, and some friends who make bets amongst themselves that they can make me sing a certain word.  Many times I don’t even know I’m doing it.

So now, I’m gonna cheat and ask the random question here…….what song(s) do you remember from childhood?

~ by tawnyamarie on April 3, 2008.

3 Responses to “Thursday 13 & Random Question: Songs”

  1. I remember too many of those…and I believe “Rocky Top” was sung by John Denver.

  2. MANY people sang “Rocky Top.” Buck Owens was another that you’d know his version. Ironic that John Denver sang “Rocky Top,” though, neh? Sad…

    There are so many songs that I remember bits and pieces of from my childhood that I couldn’t tell you the name of the song or who sang it. They just float into my head. Many are attached to a specific memory. My parents had rules where I could only sing for 5 minutes or something like that after they put me to bed. Otherwise, I would just sing for hours at the top of my little lungs (and at the top of my high-pitched range!). Good question of the week! 🙂

  3. They made me and my friend Kimberly stop singing because they only song that we would sing on the school bus to and from school everyday in the 4th grade was “Nobody” from Sylvia

Leave a Reply

 
