Plenty of Fish in the Sea, huh?

Well that’s what they say anyway. With my many years of dating/singleness, I’d have to concede that that is true.  However, I’d have to put in this disclaimer (imagine the fast-talking announcer on the car commercials if you will):

**A majority of the fish have been swimming in a toxic waste dump.  This is extremely evident when you reel them in, as they don’t act like fish are supposed to. Some fish may not be available emotionally because they’re content to keep swiming in the toxic waste dump with lots of other fish to look at (but not get close to).  Other fish are still attached to the old fish mate and fish babies they left behind in the last pond, and they simply can’t be caught due to the sheer weight of their baggage.  And still other fish are caught in a whirlpool and won’t even bother to look at a lure due to their inability to focus anywhere but inward.

So knowing all of that, it was with a bit of cynicism that I cast my line into the “plentyoffish.com” online dating site. I’d already tried fishing in the church pond as well as several other online dating ponds. To no avail. Nothing but frustration. It was kind of a fluke that I signed up for plenty of fish. It was free and a friend at work had recommended it. My attitude was, “Guess it won’t hurt to look”.  SO glad I did. That’s how I met James.

Now Plenty of Fish is not a Christian dating site, which was one of the reasons I was leery. As someone put it, it’s like the Christians on there are fishing in a very very small inlet of a very big pond.  The third day I was on there, a tall red headed volleyball player wrote me a short note saying he was impressed with my profile (so refreshing after the mail that starts out with ,”Hey baby” and goes downhill from there).  We wrote for about a week and then moved on to phone conversation. Our phone conversations were long and enjoyable. We seemed to have chemistry and could laugh with each other. This was James’s first foray into online dating and he told me that he knew when we talked for 3 hours the first night that there was definitely something there, as he’d never had that long of a conversation with one person before.  I, having done this online dating thing for a torturous amount of time, was excited, but new that long phone conversations do not guarantee face-to-face chemistry. 

We set up our first meeting and went to dinner. It went so well, we rented a couple of movies and stayed up really late talking. We’ve been together every possible moment since (except the night we both had to do our taxes. See. Two peas in a pod, I tell ya).  Both of us believed that God could and would bring somebody into our lives, but I don’t think either of us could even imagine how perfectly the pieces would fit into place. I know that James isn’t perfect and vice versa, but we’re really struggling to find anything we don’t like about the other person. So far no annoyances or reservations whatsoever. 

So, he’s on his way over for dinner, so I’ve got to wrap this up for now. I’ll tell you more about James at a later date.

~ by tawnyamarie on April 22, 2008.

10 Responses to “Plenty of Fish in the Sea, huh?”

  1. That is just priceless. I know that you have been patient on God’s faithfulness and I am so thankful that your patience has allowed a great pay-off, if you will. I hope that this continues to bring you happiness and…well…just fun! 🙂

  2. It’s so fun to read your story. Thanks for sharing how you met James. But you’ve got to continue the metaphor for me…what kind of fish is James?

  3. So, James isn’t a codfish, a slimy eel, or a snapping turtle like those other ‘catches’, eh? 😉

  4. hehehe…still giggling. You know how I feel about it all. We red heads got it going on I tell ya. 😉 Can’t wait to meet him.

  5. Oh, sugar, do I HEAR you on this….and I be deef. 🙂

    So glad you found a normal, sane, intelligent, responsible, red-headed biped. 🙂 Yay. Keep the info coming.

    My tall, sane, intelligent, responsible, jet-black-curls and blue eyed biped and I are expecting a joint biped of our own…so the rewards of finding a good one….are big. 🙂

    Hugs,
    Lurch

  6. I am so glad to read all of this! I promise I will call you soon, I have had “car drama” this week (I took my car in for an oil change at the dealership where I work, and it came out with a blown engine!). Have a great, fun weekend.

  7. OH, and when do we get to see pictures of the happy couple?

  8. I think we’ve all been pretty patient with the lovebirds, neh? 🙂 It’s been a loooong time since an update! 🙂

  9. Amen, Devon!

  10. God Bless You Tawnya Marie. The both of you are truly blessed. I hope to marry someone like you.

Leave a Reply

 
