An Interesting Trip to the Museum

Being an artist, I’m obviously a fan of great art. And in particular, I’ve always loved the Impressionists. In fact, I’m such an admirer that I’ve painted all 4 walls in my bathroom in the style of one of Claude Monet’s many water lily paintings.  So when James mentioned that the Nelson Atkins museum was having a special exhibition featuring some of the most famous Impressionists, as well as VanGogh, a post-Impressionist, I was happy to go check it out.

The Nelson Atkins is a top notch museum, especially for a city the size of Kansas City. I don’t know why I don’t go more often, as it’s only 10 minutes from my house and FREE! We planned to go last Friday evening, as he was planning to leave bright and early for a volleyball tournament in Nebraska. As it turned out, his plans were up in the air and he said he might haveNelson Atkins to leave around 7 to catch a ride with someone to NE.  I offered for us to go another night, but he didn’t want to miss the exhibition and we’re typically pretty busy. So we went knowing that our time might be cut short should he get a last minute ride.

As it turned out, it was a beautiful day and the pristine grounds were gorgeous as usual. Earlier in the day I had the thought that the Nelson would be a great place to take engagement or wedding photos when the time came. It’s just that pretty.

Since we were short on time, we headed straight upstairs to the Impressionist collection. There were some beautiful pieces there by artists like Pissarro and Monet. By far the stand-out piece in the room was the large waterlily painting by Monet that I was immediately drawn to. James apparently is not familiar with museum protocol, as he inched us up very close to the painting, where we admired the brushstrokes. Of course a security guard was there in a flash to scold us. As I turned, he said, “Ma’am, I need you and your fiancee to step back from the painting.”  I turned to give James a suspicious look and he got down on one knee. He said some very nice and romantic things (which are a bit of a blur now) and popped the question. Of course I said yes! He presented me with a beautiful heart shaped aquamarine ring set (heart shaped because his last name is Hart).  If you’re wondering why aquamarine, it’s because I told him I didn’t want a diamond (I know I’m probably one of the few women in America who does not; I’ll tell you more about why at a later date).

 

I was so glad I brought my camera. I insisted we take our picture in front of the painting. He insisted taht we wait and just take in the moment. After a bit, my good friend Emily showed up. James had been scheming with her this week(along with others). He had wanted her there to take pictures. His parents had staged a photo re-enactment of their proposal in college and so we did the same. Here’s a link to the pictures.

Turns out James had more up his sleeve. The 2 of us and Emily then drove to his niece’s house where a good number of his family were gathered for a celebration (and what a red headed clan that was)!

It was a wonderful evening. he asked if I would have rather been proposed to on a bridge or at a fancy restaurant. I told him his plan was perfect and very sentimental to me.

So my dear readers, I hope you will forgive me for not writing sooner. I decided that we couldn’t be apart right after our engagement, so I went with him to NE for his tournament.  Sunday was church and time with both sets of parents, so I just have not had time on my very slow computer to get anything up until now. Hopefully it’s juicy enough to make up for the wait you all had to endure!

~ by tawnyamarie on June 16, 2008.

9 Responses to “An Interesting Trip to the Museum”

  1. WOO HOO!!!! Beautiful pictures! Gorgeous ring! Happy TAWNYA! Three blessings we have been praying and praying for! I love you!

  2. Congratulations! I’m very happy for you…so when’s the wedding?

    David Blankenship

  3. YES! I am so happy for you! Great photos! Awesome ring! CONGRATULATIONS!

  4. I am so excited for you! Congratulations and best wishes. Enjoy every moment. You’re in my thoughts.

  5. How awesome! It sounds like the perfect engagement! Such a surprise as I hadn’t checked your blog for awhile. Congrats!!!

  6. [Taj is unavailable to post this comment herself as she’s off in the living room doing the snoopy dance. This is her cat. She’s thrilled. Remind me to put her bottle of tranquilizers near the bed tonight. -Lucius]

  7. SO, any date news to share? Just curious as you haven’t updated since the big reveal! 🙂

  8. Notice that the newly delivered mom of 2 has had more updates. Tawnya, you are being outdone, seriously! We don’t want too much lovey gush, but you could tell us about some of the dates you have had, how the plans are going for The Big Day, a picture of the pets…. something. Oh, and are we invited?

  9. […] 11. “Waterlilies” by Claude Monet. How is this romantic you might ask. Well this will always have a sentimental, special place in my heart. James proposed to me in front of a huge waterlily painting by Claude Monet! You can read the story here.  […]

Leave a Reply

 
