Cake Mania

I love making desserts. I have said before that if I weren’t married and knew I’d stay single, I’d open a dessert shop and dress in a mu mu to cover up all the extra weight.  When it comes to desserts, I’m like Tim, the Toolman Taylor. I have to bump it up a notch or two. So when my friend Kristen requested a German Chocolate cake for her birthday a few years ago, I thought, “How boring”. I went in search for German Chocolate cake on steroids and I hit the jackpot.  This cake is easy (the worst part is unwrapping a whole bag of caramels). But it’s made out of a box cake mix and store bought icing (gasp). The ooey-gooeyness of the cake will more than make up for that though. Hope you enjoy! BTW, the picture doesn’t do it justice. Two things to note from the picture: a) look at the caramel oozing out from the middle and b) check out the glass of milk in the corner. You’ll need it!

100_6850

German Chocolate Caramel Cake

1 German Chocolate Cake Mix
1 Bag of Caramels (14 oz – yep, almost a pound of caramel)
1/3 cup of evaporated milk
3/4 cup butter
1 cup chocolate chips
1 can of Caramel Coconut Icing

1.Mix German Choc cake according to directions on box (I didn’t list those ingredients)
2. Pour 1/2 of the batter into a 13 x 9 greased pan.
3. Bake 15 minutes at 350 degrees.
4. While that’s baking, melt the butter, evap milk and caramels over low to medium heat.
5. Pour the caramel mixture over the cake.
6. Pour the remaining cake batter over the top.
7. Sprinkle the chocolate chips on top.
8. Bake another 20 minutes. (It’s better underdone than overdone.)
9. Slather on that yummy frosting.

(You could also add nuts if you wanna go hog wild. )

Funny thing about this cake….My husband is a health nut. He told me early on not to make cakes with sugar for him because he won’t eat them. Well, Kristen’s birthday came around again a few weeks ago and I made this cake.  He couldn’t resist trying it. He told me it was the best cake he’s ever had. He asked me to make it again this weekend for a dinner party with his friend. And he definitely didn’t just eat one piece.  So you could say this cake is good enough to convert the most die-hard health nut.

So speaking of husband’s health nutiness….James’ mom makes her cakes and goodies with fructose. James approves of fructose because it hits the blood stream much slower than sugar and doesn’t spike insulin levels. It’s not calorie free, but you don’t have to use as much fructose as you would sugar so it’s about 2/3 the calories. We use it in our sweet tea and it tastes just like sugar. I’ve slowly been experimenting with making cakes and baked goods with it. Last summer, I tried my first experiment for his birthday cake. I was goint to make my notorious Towering Praline Carrot Cake with candied Walnuts.  I made the cake and discovered that the fructose changes the moisture levels a bit; it just wasn’t as good. Then came time for the frosting. Of course I make mine with cream cheese frosting,  which you make with powdered sugar. He told me that his mom figured out how to make frosting without sugar so I went online and found a recipe. It was awful. He was very gracious and said it was pretty good, but he didn’t realize the full potential of my carrot cake. So I called his mom to see what the secret is to frosting with no sugar. Low and behold, the secret is that she does use powdered sugar! How was I going to compete with that?  I just had to tell him. He couldn’t go on believing that his mother was magical in the kitchen and I would just never measure up. 

Well, all that to say, I discovered a cookbook with healthy recipes and the author makes her icing with0ut sugar. I’m going to share this coconut cake recipe with you. I made it this week and it was fabulous. You couldn’t tell that it didn’t have a lick of sugar (sucralose) in it.  The downfall of this cake is that it is not quick. You make the custard, the icing and the cake from scratch. The author by the way, is Krystine Crowell who owns the legendary “Bakery to the Stars” in L.A. 

Coconut Custard Cake
100_6845

3 cups flour (I used whole wheat pastry flour and it was still good)
2 1/2 tsp Bkng. Powder
1 tsp. Bkng. Soda
12 Tsp. Salt
1/2 cup Butter, Softened
1 1/2 cups Fructose
1/4 cup Nonfat plain yogurt
1/2 cup egg whites
1 cup coconut milk
2 tsp. vanilla
1 1/2 c Coconut flakes

1. Preheat oven to 350. Spray 2 round cake pans and dust with flour.
2. Mix together flour, bkng. powder, bkng. soda and salt. Set aside.
3. Beat butter and fructose with mixer. Add yogurt, eggs, coconut milk, vanilla, and coconut and beat.
4. Add flour mixture and beat about 1 minute.
5.  Pour into pans and bake 20 minutes** or until wooden pick inserted comes out clean.

**I found her baking times to be too short for my oven. At 20 minutes, my cake was still batter.  Mine baked for about 30 minutes.

While cake is baking, make filling and icing….

Coconut Cream Filling:

3/4 c fructose
3 Tbsp. Cornstarch
1/4 tsp. salt
2 cups skim milk
1 1/4 Cups liquid egg substitute
1 Tbsp. Butter
3/4 Cups flaked coconut
2 tsp. Vanilla

In saucepan, whisk first 3 ingredients. Add milk and cook over low heat. Stir constantly until boiling. Remove from heat and whisk in eggs and butter. Cook over low, stirring constantly until it reaches a boil. Remove from heat and add coconut and vanilla. Cool in fridge 2 hours.

Vanilla Buttercream Frosting (sugar free)

1/3 cup flour
1 cup skim milk
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup fructose
2 tsp. vanilla

Whisk together milk and flour in a saucepan. Cook over medium, stirring constantly until mixture is a thick paste. Remove from heat and cool in fridge for 1 hour.

Beat butter, fructose, vanilla, and cooled paste until smooth and creamy. Chill 90 minutes.

Assemble cake: Spread filling between the 2 layers and frost the top and sides with the frosting. Enjoy!

By the way,if you don’t have or don’t want to use fructose, just substitute sugar. And if you prefer the ease of your own Buttercream frosting recipe, that would knock off some of the time needed to produce this cake.

~ by tawnyamarie on January 25, 2009.

2 Responses to “Cake Mania”

  1. nice post … love the cake recipes … Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com

  2. MMMMMMMM….CAKE! I am soooo going to make this sometime soon. You had me at “look at the caramel oozing out from the middle” 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
