My Plate Collection

Have you ever been to one of those paint on pottery places? I like to go, but I always had the problem of taking forever to decide on a piece to paint. So I decided that since I like to make dessert and I like fine art, I’d start a series of fine art dessert plates. That way when a friend called me up to go paint, I already would know what I wanted to do.  You’ve probably seen bits and pieces of them in my dessert photos. But I thought I’d share the real picture, as the cake is usually covering up the best parts.

So if you’re not familiar with the process, you have to “paint” the glazes on in 3 coats. It’s challenging because the glaze does not look like the final product, so sometimes there’s some guesswork involved. For example here is the last one I did, based on “Christina’s World” by Andrew Wyeth….

Pre-fired….

100_68472

Fired. It’s always fun to go back and see how rich and vibrant they turn out.

100_6857

So art history quiz…..who can name the artist of the following (well I painted these; what I mean is who was the artist I copied)?  Bonus if you know titles too.

100_6858

100_6860

100_6862

100_6863

100_6864

~ by tawnyamarie on February 2, 2009.

2 Responses to “My Plate Collection”

  1. Those plates are UNREAL. I can’t believe how talented you are. I know one is “Starry Night” and one is “The Scream”. I think the one with the girls is Renoir? I never took Art Apprec. 🙂

  2. Thanks Krystal. You’re right. And another friend guessed on my facebook page and got (I think) all of them. But here are the answers….

    “Christina’s World” Andrew Wyeth

    “The Star” Edgar Degas (on an art history quiz, if it’s impressionistic and the subject matter is ballet, he’s always your best guess)

    “Woman with a Parasol” Claude Monet

    “Two Sisters” Renoir

    “The Starry Night” Van Gogh (not “Starry, Starry Night” as some mistakenly think due to the song).

    “The Scream” Edvard Munch

Leave a Reply

 
