Thursday 13: Or in This Case, “Thursday Baker’s Dozen”

As you know, I’ve been trying to experiment with baking without sugar (sucrose). I’ve been using fructose and sucanot (evaporated cane juice) which are supposedly better for you (apparently they don’t cause the blood sugar spikes that sucrose causes). *Disclaimer: I have done some preliminary research on several of the sugar substitutes, but I’m no expert. I’ll be researching it more and reporting back.  I’ve come across a wonderful little Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookie recipe that I’ll share here. And it just so happens to have 13 Ingredients. This is modified from the book I referred to earlier from author Krystine Crowell, who owns L.A.’s “Bakery to the Stars”.  I say modified because I slightly altered some of the ingredients. Plus I’m not the kind of baker to follow the recipe to the letter.  I’ve never had a cookie taste bad because I didn’t sift the baking soda and salt into the flour first.  So here goes:

100_6984

Chunky Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

Beat together:
*1 stick softened butter (do yourself a favor and use the real deal)
*2 eggs
*2/3 c. fructose
*3/4 c. Sucanot (or brown sugar)
*1 tsp. Vanilla (almond flavoring is a good stand-in or just nice for a change)

Stir in:
*1 3/4 c. flour (I use whole wheat pastry flour and won’t go back to white now. If  you’re used to that mealy stoneground whole wheat taste, you’ll be surprised when you get this soft fluffy stuff)
*1 tsp. baking powder
*1 tsp. Baking soda
*1/2 tsp. salt
*1 1/2 c. quick oats
*1/2 c chocolate chips
*1/2 c chopped chocolate bar (I’ve never done this; just used twice the choc chips simply because when the craving hits, I never have a chocolate bar sitting around)
*1/2 c nuts (optional – I prefer without, but I couldn’t take it off or it would be Thursday 12)

Bake at 375 for about 10 minutes. I like them to be a bit gooey. (Remember those commercials where they slowly broke apart the cookie and you could see the soft chocolate melt before your eyes?) Bake longer if you prefer a crisp/crunchy cookie, but I suggest you refer to the sentence above and reconsider.

~ by tawnyamarie on March 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
