Memories from Childhood

I’ve been going through and organizing  pictures on my computer tonight. I don’t have a working scanner, so I’ve never been able to get childhood pics onto the computer. However,  we  had a slideshow at our wedding and therefore had converted lots of pics to digital format. As I went through some of these, they brought back lots of memories. I think I’ll start sharing a memory and an old picture each week.

Here are Tracy and I being musical. Tracy will say that she’s not very musical, but I guess she got roped into lots of musical play with me as her older sister. I remember singing a lot as a child. I composed songs and sang them as I swang on our tree swing.  I loved listening to dad’s 8 tracks and records. I can remember listening to ABBA and Crystal Gayle over and over. I gave concerts in the living room and charged a penny for my parents to watch me swing my long hair around and sing, “Don’t it Make my Brown Eyes Blue”.  I even made concert posters. I was in the county fair princess contest when I was 4 and apparently when they asked what I wanted to be, I answered, “a singer like Crystal Gayle” and broke out into song. In school, I remember singing loudly and proudly. I am very much a musical learner and I still remember songs I learned as a child. Maybe someday the lyrics to the Cheerios jingle or “Scratch, Scratch, Me Back” will come in handy. Otherwise, they’re wasting valuable memory for important things like…my students’ names for example.

111111-r1-08-8

~ by tawnyamarie on March 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
