A Productive Weekend of Scrapbooking

I spent a wonderful weekend in Salina KS at a Winter Angel Gathering. Avis, Heather, and Lori had lots of wonderful projects for us, I got to catch up with some of my stamping friends, and I had lots of quality stamping time. The main thing I tackled this weekend was the wedding photos. I just got the last of them last week (in fact picked them up on the way to the retreat). Now I’ve had quite the quandary with what to do with the wedding photos. I’m a scrapbooker, but I figured I would get really perfectionistic about wedding photos and with the vast quantity, it would simply take forever to scrapbook them all. I think for the bulk of my photos, I’m going to order one of those professional printed photo books. Should be fun to design, yet won’t take forever. However, I couldn’t stand the thought of not scrapbooking any of the photos. So I decided to create an 8 x 8 album with a page for each person involved in the wedding. I figured out the general theme, paper, colors, etc. and completed 4 pages so far (except for the journaling)….

100_7039
 I realized the Penelope SWIC collection matched my fall wedding colors oh so well, but alas, all I had left was a sheet of tags. Luckily, my friend Kim had an extra Sydney Circle album kit and I bought it from her to use on my pages. I’m so thrifty, that I often use the little scraps no one else would bother with. Kim noticed this and punched out all the elements from her other Sydney kit and gave me the remaining scraps. Examples of how I use scraps: I stamped the F in the first pic on a scrap and cut out. I didn’t use a full circle behind the pic of my dad and I; I plotted and cut out just the little sliver I needed….Incidentally, I love the pic on the lower right of my dad and I. The photographer had set up a first viewing for the groom. James had his back turned and this shot was taken as he turned around and saw me for the first time. I obviously wasn’t watching my dad’s face, but it’s nice to see such an expression of joy there. 
100_7037
 And I like this pic of my mom, taken from between 2 of the bridesmaids (you can see their green and burgundy dresses on the edge of the photo).
100_7034
The pic of James and his mom wasn’t necessarily the most flattering for either of them. But I liked how they have their hands entwined (they have a very close relationship). SO I highlighted this part of the photo by punching it out with a circle punch, putting a pop dot and coordinating paper under it. I also stamped the Queen and labeled it Queen of Harts because my MIL truly is the queen of the family (and Hart is our last name).

100_7032

 

 As I got these pages put together, I decided they needed a little extra pop. I borrowed Kim’s gold leafing pen (she was such a good resource this weekend) and outlined a lot of the elements….I love the pic of my FIL praying with my own Dad in the background. They both offered prayers during our wedding which was very special to us.

 My friends laughed at me because if you look at my page from the back (see pic), you can see I cut out a rectangle of CS that would be behind a pic anyway. I then used that on the coordinating page. It makes your papers go farther.

 When you’re doing a theme album, whether it’s wedding, or baby, it goes so much faster if you have a color scheme and general layout picked out. The rest of my pages should be a breeze. I’ll share them as I get them done. It’s going to be a busy week, so not promising anything soon.

Recipe:
Papers:
From the Penelope SWIC and Sydney CIrcle Album kit (also one page taken from Amberley Grace SWIC) – all TAC
CS: From Penelope coordinating papers (TAC) also scraps of Burgundy from unknown source
Stamps: AlphaGrunge (TAC) and Renaissance (TAC)
Inks: Noir Palette, Clear Embossing Ink
Other: Gold leafing pen, Clear EP, Watercolor palette in metallics, Green and gold ribbon

~ by tawnyamarie on March 24, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
