Art for a Baby Shower

Hard for me to believe I have great-nephews and nieces. But I comfort myself in the fact that this is only through marriage, since I married a “surprise baby” (much younger than his siblings) and he’s quite a bit older than I am to start with. James’ niece Susan will be having baby Ethan here in about a month or so. We celebrated with a shower today. I had given Susan options: baby name sign, a small mural or painted wooden letters. She chose the baby name sign and she admitted that she hoped I had slipped and posted a sneak peak in my facebook album. Her bedding is the Tiddliwinks Sweet Safari from Target.

Image: target.com

Though this was a gift, I knew I wanted to use it on my website and fb page, and therefore didn’t copy any of the animals exactly. In fact, aside from the giraffe (which I changed up), I made up animal designs in a similar style. (Trying to avoid copyright/licensure infringement). Here’s what I came up with. Susan seemed quite excited about it, and that’s what I love to see.

Ethan has a big sister, Riley, who had to move over and make room for him. Since she has to share the room, I thought she needed something to spice up her side of the space. Plus it gave her something to open at the shower. I think her sign is one of my favorite initials so far. “Riley Bug” is what her grandma calls her and her bedding is zebra print (gotta love FB for some investigative sleuthing):

If you’re new to my blog, you can find my artwork for sale at my etsy shop.

~ by tawnyamarie on June 5, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
