Fourth of July Fun

James, Scarlet and I headed up to my parents for the Fourth. My niece and nephew were back from visiting their “Alabammy Grammy”. I hadn’t seen them in almost 2 months, so it was good to see them. I wanted to enter a patriotic photo contest for a chance to win another cloth diaper so we posed for some pictures that afternoon. Here’s the picture I entered:

One of the requirements of the contest was that it had to feature a cloth diaper. So when I took off her navy star bloomers, I decided to use them as a hat. The fabric was too cute to lay aside.  The kids were all into the photo taking and helped me set up props and such (including everything under the sun, like dirty flip flops). They helped me wash this fire truck so we could use it in some shots…

(This is a strange expression on Scarlet’s face. She wasn’t crying or even unhappy. She was talking in her happy little way.)

This isn’t a very good picture, but I had to include it because it reminds me of one of the funniest conversations I overheard between James and my niece Molly. He was teaching her all the tricks of the trade of babysitting. I was in the other room eavesdropping and giggling to myself as he talked to her at length about…well…about how to wipe her butt. So funny that before Scarlet, James said he had held a baby maybe one time in his life.  In this picture he was encouraging her to be a big cousin and carry her in the other room. It was a struggle for her.

Later that night we headed to my brother’s house (he’s got enough acreage to make shooting fireworks legal). The kids had fun shooting off all kinds of stuff.

And I’m happy to report that the first picture was one of the 3 winners in the photo contest.  And although a cloth diaper doesn’t seem that exciting to most people, it’s nice to try new brands (and since some of them are nearly $20 a pop free is definitely good). Here you can see it with the other winners. I almost didn’t enter when I saw that first picture of the soldier meeting his daughter for the first time after being overseas. If that doesn’t make you feel patriotic, I don’t know what would.

~ by tawnyamarie on July 6, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
